POSITIVE WEEKLY

Capture

As they say, you miss 100% of the chance you didn’t take. This is very true.

I remember the time I applied for a promotion. If you’ve read my blog about ‘Accepting mistakes‘, you’d know I work at a BPO company. I was an agent for a year and a half when an opportunity came. One supervisory spot was vacant.

Instead of opening it to everyone who are interested to apply, the management appointed one person to fill the spot – and that was my batch mate and friend. I kind of felt disappointed that I didn’t get the chance to apply, and I felt I wasn’t doing my job well that’s why I wasn’t ‘selected’. I didn’t brood over it though. Besides, my friend was very much competent in the post and he’s intelligent and hard working.

However, my friend decided to go back to being an agent since the workload is too much for him. He was studying at that time. The management then decided to open the slot to those interested and I got my chance to apply.

One thing I considered before applying was the interview. I really, really, hated interviews. If only you can get a job without it. It makes me uncomfortable. At times, I felt stupid answering questions. I felt my answers were unintelligent. I’ve had a few interviews when I was applying for work but I still couldn’t get used to it. There’s always this feeling of hesitation and uneasiness.

I decided that since I wanted this post and I’m ready to step up (at least that’s what I felt), I won’t let the interview stop me from applying. Again, you miss 100% of the chance you didn’t take. I had always been ready to accept failure and defeat every time I get to this point. I apply but I won’t expect to be chosen.

My only defense then was my prowess. Even if I don’t get the position, at least I did my best. I’m a firm believer that even if you didn’t get what you wanted, you still gained something. You just have to find what it is.

I did get the position and it’s already my 6th year doing the job. If I didn’t take the chance and let my doubts, fears, and uncertainty get the best of me, I wouldn’t be here now.

If there’s something positive you wanted to do but something’s stopping you, always remember – you miss 100% of the chance you didn’t take.

Juviee

Leave a Reply

