BOOK REVIEW #02: DISCLOSURE × MICHAEL CRICHTON

I chanced upon this book because of my friend. She’s generous enough to let me borrow the book. It sat on my table for a few months before I started to read it.

The story is about Tom Sanders, the head of advanced products manufacturing at DigiCom. He was betrayed and lied to by the people he considered friends.

What I liked about the character was that everyone thinks he’s fragile and timid but he has a fighting spirit of a tiger. He pursued the path that most of us would not dare. Because of what he did, they were able to discover the truth about Meredith and their plan to oust him in the office.

It has also taught us that love can conquer all. Tom’s wife was put in a very difficult position but did not desert him. She let Tom fix things his way but still stood by him though far away. She accepted that Tom may have made some mistakes but the love is still there.

There are also people that would turn their back on you when the going gets tough. These are the people you don’t need in your life. And there are people who’d stand by you no matter what because they know you too well.

As for the writing style, I was confused about some of the terminology used. I’m not a technical person so I did not fully understand when he described the chips and why they were not functioning correctly. If you look past those jargons, you will definitely enjoy the book. Besides, there are only a few confusing moments there.

The story tackled sexual harassment of a lady boss to her subordinate. This does not usually happen but it does not mean that it does not. Most men would just let it slide and others may treat it like one of their greatest achievement in life. Tom, the main character in this novel, decided to do what’s right, even if it means putting the limelight on him and his family. He asked his wife to get the kids and go somewhere far whilst he deals with the sexual harassment case. It was very brave for him to do that. Sometimes, the right thing is the most difficult thing to do.

I did not know that this is already a motion picture which starred Michael Douglas and Demi Moore. The release date of the movie was December 9, 1994, and the book was released in January 1994 under the Publishing Company Knopf. Wow. And I am writing this blog in 2017. 🙂

 

 

BOOK INFORMATION

Country: United States
Genre: Crime Novel
Pages: 597 pp.
Preceded by: Rising Sun
Followed by: The Lost World

 

RATING

Open BookOpen BookOpen BookOpen BookOpen Book

 

Thanks for dropping by. See you on my next review! ❤

Thanks!

11 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW #02: DISCLOSURE × MICHAEL CRICHTON

  1. This is so random of me to comment but I have to tell you that I just came across your blog and that I love it! Honestly, you have a lovely website here and I am so happy I have discovered it! I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

